NZ Art Awards, Competitions, Funding, & Annual Exhibitions

Adam Portraiture Award
The Adam Foundation sponsors a biennial award for portraiture. A conditon of the Adam Award is that the The New Zealand Portrait Gallery gets the winner of the Competition for its own collection.

Bold Horizon National Contemporary Art Award
The Bold Horizon National Contemporary Art Award is an opportunity for New Zealand artists to appear in an overview of national artistic practice and feature in a major exhibition within the Waikato Museum. The winner receives $15,000.

CoCA Anthony Harper Contemporary Art Award
COCA was established in 1880 to "promote the study, practice, and cultivation of the fine arts." The gallery values its history as Canterbury's most-established art institution, as well as its status as an organization that makes an essential contribution to the arts at a national level.

Cranleigh Barton Drawing Award
The Cranleigh Barton Drawing Award is one of New Zealand's most prestigious drawing competitions. Established in 1993 to recognise excellence in drawing and to raise its status within visual arts education and practice, this biennial award is made possible through the legacy of Canterbury watercolourist Cranleigh Barton (1890-1975).

Creative Communities Scheme (CCS) Each year Creative New Zealand provides funding to city and district councils for distributing in their area. The scheme supports more than 1,800 projects every year. Applications are made directly to your local council and closing dates vary.

Cultural Sector Awards - Ministry for Culture & Heritage
The Ministry administers a range of awards and funds, and provides information about the main awards available in the cultural sector.

Fieldays No. 8 Wire National Art Award
The Fieldays No.8 Wire National Art Award is a national competition where entrants create a sculptural art piece out of No.8 wire. The award has a total prize pool of $10,000 which is sponsored by New Zealand National Agricultural Fieldays.

Molly Morpeth Canaday Award
The Molly Morpeth Canaday Award is staged annually in the summer months. Entries close December. The award is either for Painting and Drawing or for 3D Art Form. These are two separate awards staged in alternating years.

McCaw Lewis Chapman Regional Art Award
McCaw Lewis Chapman has a historical relationship with the art community in the Waikato and are the major sponsor in conjunction with the Waikato Society of Arts for the Regional Art Award 2007.

National Drawing Award
New Zealand's leading independent contemporary art spaces, ARTSPACE, Auckland and The Physics Room, Christchurch and Enjoy Public Art Gallery, Wellington.

New Zealand Art Show
The New Zealand Art Show encourages New Zealanders to celebrate our identity and culture by buying local art.

New Zealand Painting and Printmaking Award
Regarded as one of the country's most prestigious art awards, the $15,000 prize is donated to the Waikato Society of Arts by the Philip Vela Family Trust, who in addition, purchase the winning work. The Vela family are building an important collection, which they intend to exhibit in the future.

North Shore City Art Award
The awards celebrate our varied experiences of, and traditional links with, the extensive New Zealand coastal environment. The competition is for a two dimensional work relating to the coastline, coastal settlement, flora, fauna, the sea, marine life, or maritime activity.

Olivia Spencer Bower Award
The general purpose is to encourage and promote New Zealand artists and sculptors with particular emphasis on future artistic potential rather than financial need. It was Olivia's specific objective to assist New Zealand artists and sculptors with talent so they could devote their energies, on a full time basis for a twelve month period, to painting and sculpture freed from the necessity to seek outside employment.

One Size Fits All Art Competition
Thornton Gallery holds an annual group exhibition and competition for New Zealand artists comprising of 10"x10" artworks.

Original Art Sale
The Original Art Sale is one of the largest sales of art in New Zealand and has several thousand pieces of art sourced from across the New Zealand art community, available at it's 3 day event.

Peters Doig Marlborough Art Award
The Peters Doig Marlborough Art Awards held annually in May has established itself as one of the country's prestigious art exhibitions. Now in its 6th year it attracts entries from all over New Zealand and is regarded as the high point of the Gallery's year.

Rotorua Museum Biennial Art Awards
Award Categories: Rotorua Museum Supreme Award, Friends of Rotorua Museum Emerging Artist Award,
Toi-Ohomai Institute of Technology Innovation in Art Award, Lockwood Youth Award(open to artists 18 years and under), and More FM People’s Choice Award.

Splash®, Watercolour New Zealand’s national watercolour exhibition featured the best of New Zealand watercolour artists. Entry is open to all members of Watercolour New Zealand. Open theme. Award Categories: Watercolour New Zealand Supreme Award, Merit awards, Awards for Innovation in Watercolour, Best Small Work and People’s Choice Award.

Taranaki Art Awards
In recognition of the success of an intimate, creative annual art review and the appreciation of local New Zealand artists, the coastal Taranaki village, Opunake, presents the recently renamed art competition, The Taranaki Art Awards!

Wai Art Portrait Awards
This exhibition is open to all New Zealand artists and will require a portrait of a New Zealand resident person along with a short written explanation on the reasons why that person was chosen by the artist. This exhibition will allow the artist to recognize someone influential and important in his or her life.

Waiheke Walker and Hall Art Award
In association with the Waiheke Community Art Gallery and Walker and Hall, this event provides an opportunity for artists to participate in an award that promotes excellence in the arts.

Wallace Art Awards
Awards for contemporary painting, sculpture, drawing and unique photography to encourage the visual arts in New Zealand and in particular to reward those producing outstanding work with educational grants.

Walters Prize
Named in honour of artist Gordon Walters, the Walters prize was established in 2002 by founding benefactors and principal donors Erika and Robin Congreve and Jenny Gibbs to make contemporary art a more widely recognised and debated feature of New Zealand cultural life. Held every 2 years, the $50,000 Walters Prize, modelled on the Tate Britain's Turner Prize, is awarded for an outstanding contribution to contemporary art in New Zealand.

Whanganui Arts Review Run by Whanganui’s acclaimed Sarjeant Gallery Te Whare o Rehua, the pattillo Arts Review this year celebrated thirty years of giving exposure and increased profile to artists in the Whanganui region. The winner of the major Arts Review prize, the Open Award, will not only receive the cash prize of $5000 but also the opportunity to be the first recipient of the pattillo project – a solo artist showcase exhibition at the Sarjeant the following year.

Yellow Pages Group Art Awards
The Yellow Pages Group Art Awards is your chance to show what you love about where you live. Express those feelings in your artwork, and it could feature on the cover of your region’s next White Pages.

Home Art Trails NZ NZ Art Directory Art Trails NZ Calendar of Events Art Trails NZ Need a website? Art Trails NZ Subscribe to Newsletter email Art Trails NZ Follow ArtTrails on Facebook email Art Trails NZ

Copyright © ArtTrails NZ, All Rights Reserved